Is Beyonce Really A Whore?

bey_chair

Beyonce Performing at The Grammys last Sunday

In the wake of her much talked about performance at the Grammys, Beyonce has come under fire from mothers and media outlets who branded her a ‘Whore’ after seeing her risqué performance of ‘Drunk In Love’ at the awards show last Sunday. Weirdly enough what was surely meant to be a passing comment by some disgruntled viewer sparked up quite an interesting debate this week across the Internet which saw many bloggers and casual music buyers wonder ; ‘Is Beyonce really a whore?’

For anyone who hasn’t seen Beyonce’s performance at the Grammys and are wondering why it has upset a whole load of people then take a look at the video below.

Now before I go any further let me just say that I despise branding women as ‘whores’ in such a blasé fashion. Women have it hard enough in society and the music industry without such a vulgar word being used so casually just because someone has done something you don’t necessarily approve of. For the sake of this entry I will use the word but let it be known I really don’t like the word, like at all.

grammys_b2

Beyonce & Jay Z

Now back to the topic at hand;  Beyonce. So her performance began  with her sitting on a chair with her legs  wide open before starting to sing, she  then proceed to shake her ass as the  audience watched in while wearing a  revealing body suit which left little to  the imagination. Then her husband,  Jay Z, came out on stage to rap his  verse of the song while Beyonce  continued to accentuate her curves  and by the end of the performance she  wrapped her hands around Jay Z’s  waist as if to say to everyone watching  ‘This man and his penis are MINE’.

Was this the behaviour of a whore? Should Beyonce have behaved more lady like considering she is a Wife and Mother now? My opinion? No and No.

Don’t be fooled into thinking that the only reason why I saw nothing wrong in Beyonce’s performance is because I am a man and the performance she gave at the Grammys seemed to be geared towards grabbing the attention of the male viewer ship of the show. Yes I am a man but the reason why I didn’t see anything wrong in this performance and don’t agree with her being branded a ‘whore’ for it is because I am sick and tired of women in the music industry having this double standard put upon them to the point where they literally cannot win either way. I think this view point boils down to the fact I was a raised by my Mother along with my 3 older sisters and for all of my years I saw the double standards and struggles my Mum and sisters went through as women day in day out. So you could say I have a greater appreciation for women beyond the titties and ass. But thats a story for another day!

Now as I was saying, if you cover up and sing songs about puppy love you’re branded boring, if you show off your body and sing songs about sex you’re a slut or a whore. Its so frustrating to see and the funniest thing about it all is that I’m a man and I’m saying this.

I am a strong believer in the idea that if a woman wants to wear of sexuality on her sleeve and express herself then let her be. I don’t see how it becomes such a major issue when a woman does it but when the likes of Usher and Chris Brown express their sexual desires and wine and grind on stage it isn’t met with anger. In fact its not even noticed most of the time, its the norm for men to do this and so no one says anything.

I can understand where some of the viewers anger came from when they were saying things like ‘Isn’t she a Mother?!’ Shouldn’t Beyonce be covering up?!’ I understand their sentiments but that doesn’t mean I agree with them. I hate this belief that when a woman, whether it be Beyonce or a woman down the street, when they get married and become a Mother that they become automatically stripped of their sexuality and femininity. Now that they are married they must become sexless robots only to serve their man and rear their children.

FUCK. THAT. NOISE.

Before kids, during kids, after kids women are still women with the same needs, urges and desires and as much as it may upset some of you reading this but even your own Mother still wants to look and be sexy.

I am fully aware that this varies from person to person and while someone like Britney Spears who has two sons often expresses her reluctance in being sexy or provocative in her music videos  because she is a mum, there are other women out there who are just as good Mothers but still want to be sexy. Is this such a crime? Such a crime that it warrants other women, who you would think would empathise with one another, to call each other ‘whores’ knowing full well that the  sexuality of a woman is such a sensitive topic as it is that they choose to attack it which only then gives men more justification to use those same words against women and to think nothing of it.

I don’t expect everyone to agree with my views on this but it was something that was really bugging me because even though I am a man, I dislike it when women are  put under fire for expressing their sexuality. If Beyonce wants to dance around on stage singing about how in love she is with her husband and do it while looking sexy as hell then so be it. I am damn sure none of what she does as a singer makes her a ‘terrible’ mother or ‘terrible’ role model . Is she being promiscuous? Quite the opposite actually. This is 2014 and if you see or hear something you don’t like or agree with then use that damn remote and move on. Its a shame the women so grossly offended by what they saw at the Grammys didn’t think to do the same.

Leave a Reply

